Finding out that a friend or loved one has been arrested on misdemeanor hit-and-run charges in Los Angeles County can be a scary thing. With all the traffic we have out here, they can also be common. Hit-and-run charges in Los Angeles can be pressed as either a misdemeanor or a felony, with felony charges being far more significant.

According to California Vehicle Code 20002 VC, California’s misdemeanor hit-and-run law, an individual can be charged with this crime if they:

  • Leave the scene of an accident without first identifying themselves to the other party(s) involved and
  • Someone else’s property was damaged

For felony-level charges to be pressed, the criteria listed above must be present, but someone must also have been injured as a result of the hit-and-run.

You can be charged with misdemeanor hit-and-run charges in Los Angeles County no matter who was at fault, regardless of the amount of property damage done and/or extent of the injuries incurred. This means that if someone hits you due to no fault of your own, your vehicle incurs minimal damage, and you leave without identifying yourself to the other person, you could be charged with a misdemeanor hit-and-run. It also means that even if you do stop after being involved in a collision, but still refrain from providing identifying information to the other party before you leave, you could be charged.

Sometimes, collisions occur and the other party isn’t immediately available (such as hitting a parked car). In these situations, the law requires that you leave a “conspicuously placed note” that contains your identifying information and a summary of what happened. Additionally, you must immediately contact the local police or CHP to notify them of the collision.

The penalties for misdemeanor hit-and-run charges in Los Angeles County include up to 6-months in county jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000, up to 3-years probation, 2 points on your driving record and possible restitution to the other party.