A man was arrested on the evening of August 11 under suspicion of felony hit-and-run charges after his girlfriend exited the vehicle he was driving and was killed. According to authorities, the vehicle that the suspect was driving was still moving when the women exited, and it’s unknown whether she did so under her own volition or if she was pushed. Once outside, the woman was hit by the rear tires. She was taken to the hospital where she later died from her injuries. During the incident, the driver of the vehicle – and the woman’s boyfriend – failed to stop when the woman was hit and continued on down the road.
He was later arrested and charged with felony hit-and-run, and his bail is set at $110,000.
Hit-and-run is covered under California Vehicle Code 20002 and 20001 VC and can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony. Misdemeanor hit-and-run (20002 VC) is described as leaving the scene of an accident without first identifying yourself and another person’s property was damaged. Felony hit-and-run (20001 VC) can be charged if another person was injured or killed during the accident. It’s possible for a person to be charged with violating both 20001 VC and 20002 VC if a person’s property is damaged and someone is injured or killed during the accident.
The penalties for misdemeanor hit-and-run include up to 3 years probation, 6 months in county jail, a fine of up to $1,000, restitution to the other party, and two points on the defendant’s driving record. Felony penalties include a fine of anywhere between $1,000 and $10,000, up to 3 years in California state prison if someone is injured, or 4 years if someone is seriously injured or killed.