Last week, two daring suspects lead police on a car chase across Los Angeles County that began with an attempted burglary and ended with hugs. Oh, and somewhere in between, it included hit-and-runs and the suspects doing donuts. The two suspects, Herschel Reynolds and Isaiah Young, were charged this week with four felonies. Each suspect was charged with two counts of hit-and-run resulting in property damage, as well as one count of residential burglary and one count of fleeing a police officer’s vehicle while driving recklessly.

Young plead guilty to all charges and is currently being held in police custody in lieu of $80,000 bail, while Reynolds was released on Monday after posting $50,000 bond.

Residential burglary is covered under California Penal Code 459 PC. Also known as first-degree burglary, residential burglary is described as entering a house, hotel room, apartment (or any other room where people are living) with the intention of committing a felony once inside. First-degree burglary is always a felony in California, and its penalties include: a maximum fine of up to $10,000 and probation with up to one-year in county hail OR two, four or six-years in California state prison.

Felony hit-and-run is covered under California Vehicle Code 20001 VC and is described as leaving the scene of an accident without first identifying yourself to the other people involved. Despite the fact that the law is named “felony hit-and-run,” it’s actually a “wobbler.” If charged as a misdemeanor, the penalties include a fine between $1,000 and $10,000 and/or up to one-year in county jail. If charged as a felony, the penalties include fines ranging from $1,000 to $10,000 and anywhere from sixteen-months to three-years in California state prison.

Evading a police officer is covered under California Vehicle Code 2800.1 VC and is described as willfully attempting to flee a pursuing police officer while driving a motor vehicle. The potential penalties include probation, up to one-year in county jail, a possible fine of up to $1,000 and suspension of one’s driving privileges.