S. Clark, 48, was arrested Tuesday in connection with several felonies relating to several instances of child sexual assault in 2019. Clark previously worked at Chaminade Middle School in Chatsworth, though investigators did not specifically identify the location that the crimes took place. After his arrest, Clark was held in lieu of $475,000 bail. Clark was charged with rape, unlawful sex with a minor, and “numerous related charges with one identified victim.”
Currently, detectives are reaching out to the community in search of any additional victims. Anyone with information is asked to call 818-832-0609.
Rape is charged under California Penal Code 261 PC and is described as using force, threats of force, or fraud in order to have non-consensual sex with another person. Rape is a serious crime and always a felony. The potential penalties include felony probation or up to 8 years in California State prison.
Unlawful sex with a minor, also known as statutory rape, is covered under California Penal Code 261.5 PC and is described as any person engaging in sexual intercourse with someone under the age of 18. It doesn’t matter if the sex was consensual or even if the minor initiated the act.
Unlike the crime of rape, unlawful sex with a minor is a “wobbler” that can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony. There is a set of three criteria necessary to charge the crime as a felony. These include:
- If you are no more than 3 years older than the victim, the crime is always a misdemeanor.
- If you are more than 3 years older than the victim, the crime can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony.
- If you were 21 or older and the victim was under 16 at the time of the intercourse, you still face misdemeanor or felony charges, but the felony charges have steeper penalties than in criterion #2.
Misdemeanor statutory rape penalties include informal probation, up to 1 year in county jail, and/or a fine of up to $1,000. Felony penalties include formal or informal probation with up to 1 year in county jail or 16 months to 3 years in custody. However, if the defendant is 21 or older and the victim was under 16, the potential sentence is increased to between 2 and 4 years. Additionally, the defendant faces up to $10,000 in fines.