Authorities in Eagle Rock are investigating a hit-and-run incident where a 65-year-old man was injured. According to reports, the victim was crossing York Blvd. at Munson Ave. in an unmarked crosswalk when he was hit by a motorcycle.
Some onlookers tried to help the victim while he was in the street until he was hit by a second vehicle. Neither driver stopped after colliding with the man. Paramedics were called and it is reported that the victim is in stable condition.
Hit-and-run (felony, with injury) is covered under California Vehicle Code 20001 VC and is described as fleeing the scene of an accident in which another person has been injured or killed. The crime is a felony if a person is injured or killed. If only property is damaged, the crime is considered a misdemeanor.
Some examples of hit-and-run include:
- Hitting and injuring a pedestrian and then speeding off
- Hitting someone in a parking lot and injuring them, then speeding off
- Another driver is killed in a collision with you, and then you drive off
As you can see, the essence of the crime involves one driver colliding with another motorist or a pedestrian and then fleeing the scene without stopping to provide any identifying information.
As mentioned, violations of California Vehicle Code 20001 VC can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the circumstances of the case. If only property is damaged, the crime will be charged as a misdemeanor with the possible penalties including up to 1 year in county jail and/or a fine of between $1,000 and $10,000. If charged as a felony, the potential penalties include up to 4 years in county jail and/or a fine of between $1,000 and $10,000.
To avoid a hit-and-run charge, a motorist who strikes a pedestrian, property, or another vehicle must stop and provide identifying information to either the other driver or the police.