The Long Beach Police Department is seeking the public’s help in identifying two suspects who allegedly assaulted and robbed a street vendor. According to witnesses and video surveillance, the incident happened on Monday, June 29th. Video of the incident shows two men chasing after a vendor, pushing him to the ground, and then punching and kicking him. When bystanders yelled at the men to stop, one of them allegedly pointed a firearm at them. Witnesses claim the gun was used to pistol whip the vendor.
The suspects were able to get cash and a cell phone from the vendor before escaping in their gold/tan-colored Mercedes.
Robbery is covered under California Penal Code 211 PC and is described as taking personal property from someone’s immediate presence, against their will, and using force or fear to do so. Robbery is always a felony in California and it is divided into two parts: first-degree robbery and second-degree robbery. First-degree robbery is charged when the victim is a driver or passenger of a taxi, bus, cable car, etc., is in an inhabited structure, or anyone who has just used an ATM or is still in the vicinity of the ATM.
Second-degree robbery is usually charged in robbery cases that do not qualify as first-degree robbery.
As mentioned, robbery is always a felony in California. When someone faces robbery charges, the potential penalties include formal probation, 3, 4, or 6 years in California state prison, and/or a fine of up to $10,000. If charged with second-degree robbery, the penalties include formal probation, 2, 3, or 5 years in California state prison, and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
A robbery suspect can have their sentence enhanced if they use a gun during the commission of the crime. Under California Penal Code 12022.53 “10, 20, Life – Use a Gun and You’re Done” law, an additional 10 years in prison can be added to the sentence if the suspect personally uses a gun during the commission of the crime. If the weapon is intentionally and personally fired during the robbery, an additional 20 years can be added to the suspect’s sentence. If a suspect inflicts great bodily harm on the victim or kills them, the suspect faces 25 years to life in prison.