The police in Long Beach are searching for the public’s help in identifying the driver of a vehicle that struck and killed a woman. Police in Long Beach received a report of the hit-and-run accident and responded to the scene at about 8 pm on January 5th. When they arrived, they found the victim suffering from fatal injuries. After the paramedics got there they declared the victim dead at the scene.
Witnesses claim that a sedan was speeding down Atlantic Ave. when it hit the pedestrian in a marked crosswalk at the intersection of Atlantic Ave. and Market Street. According to reports, the vehicle was red, did not stop after striking the victim, and sustained significant front-end damage from the collision.
The Long Beach Police are asking the public’s help in identifying the suspect. Anyone with information should contact them at 562-570-7355 or crime stoppers at 800-222-TIPS.
Felony hit-and-runs are covered under California Vehicle Code 20001 VC and are described as leaving the scene of an accident where someone was injured or killed without first providing identifying information on oneself. When hit-and-runs only damage property and not people, the crime is charged as a misdemeanor.
Misdemeanor charges are covered under California Vehicle Code 20002 VC and is described as leaving the scene of an accident where nobody was injured without first identifying oneself. The penalties include up to six months in county jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
When felony hit-and-runs are charged, it’s usually because someone was injured or killed in the process. Felony hit-and-runs carry the potential penalties of up to 4 years in state prison and a fine of up to $10,000 but no less than $1,000.
Keep in mind that these potential charges and penalties are when there are no other circumstances at play. For example, if the driver was drunk or proven to be driving while distracted, they may face more serious charges.