Recently, a Long Beach man was arrested on suspicion of indecent exposure. After the investigation took place, the suspect was believed to have exposed himself to 8 people, including women and minors.
The suspect, D. Lopez, 34, is being charged with five counts of indecent exposure, four counts of stalking, and one count of contact with a minor for a sexual offense. He is currently being held in lieu of $600,000 bail. The suspect faces up to seven and a half years in jail if convicted on all counts.
California Penal Code 314 PC is California’s indecent exposure law. It defines indecent exposure as willfully exposing one’s naked body or genitals to another person who would be offended or annoyed by it. Most of the time, the crime is punished as a misdemeanor with the possible penalties including up to 6 months in county jail and a fine of up to $1,000 (for a first offense). A second offense is usually charged as a felony and carries a heftier penalty which can include prison time.
Punishment also requires registering as a tier 1 sex offender for 10 years.
Stalking is covered under California Penal Code 646.9 PC and is described as following, harassing, and threatening another person to a point where they fear for their safety. The crime can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the circumstances of the case and the defendant’s prior criminal history. Misdemeanor charges include the following penalties: misdemeanor probation, up to one year in county jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. For felony convictions, the penalties include felony probation, up to five years in state prison, and a fine of up to $1,000.
Finally, California Penal Code 288.4 PC describes the crime of meeting up with a minor for lewd purposes as arranging a meeting with a minor while motivated by an unnatural or abnormal sexual interest in children, with an intent to engage in certain sexual conduct at the meeting. Surprisingly, for many defendants, the crime is charged as a misdemeanor with the possible penalties including up to one year in county jail, a fine of up to $5,000, and the requirement to register as a tier one sex offender for a minimum of 10 years.
Felony penalties include 16 months to 4 years in California state prison, and/or a fine of up to $10,000.