California Penal Code 240 PC describes assault as: an attempt to commit an application of force on someone else. With such a broad definition, it isn’t difficult to see why assault is a relatively common charge. The key to this definition lies in the word attempt and the definition of an “application of force.” Because the definition of assault is the attempt to commit an act of force on someone else, it means that it’s possible to be charged with assault even if your actions don’t physically contact the victim. For example, trying to punch someone and missing can still result in assault charges.

Regarding the definition of an “application of force,” it doesn’t necessarily have to be a violent act. For example, spitting on someone could result in assault charges because deliberately flinging saliva through the air at someone constitutes an “application of force.”

Simple assault (“simple” meaning there were no aggravating factors, i.e. assault on a police officer)  is a misdemeanor in California that carries the possible penalties of up to 6 months in county jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000 and summary probation.

 California Assault Charge Bail Bonds

If you know someone who has been arrested and taken into custody on assault charges and you want to get them out of jail, we can help. When you call us and provide the full name, birth date, and the date and time of arrest of the person you want to bail out, we can quickly locate them within the jail system and verify their eligibility for bail. After that, it’s just a matter of filling out our short, simple bail bond application forms and signing the indemnitor’s agreement. Last, we will provide you with a receipt and send a bail agent to the jail to post the bond and your friend or loved one will be released as soon as they are processed out.